Japanese Echoes - Hommage à Claude Debussy

The six works by Japanese composers were initiated and premiered by Duo Imaginaire in 2015.
As a homage to Claude Debussy each chose a piano prelude by Debussy to which they composed a reciprocal work to reflect his fascination for Japanese culture, his sensitivity for time and space as well as his expansive sonority.

Here is a detailed description of this project.


Claude Debussy (1862-1918): “Canope”
Takashi Fujii (*1959): “Annotation on a Japanese Lullaby”

Claude Debussy: “Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir”
Asako Miyaki (*1967): “The garden of afterimage II - butterfly pattern”

Claude Debussy: “Des pas sur la neige”
Yasuko Yamaguchi (*1969): “Die Entdeckung der Freude im Schnee”

Claude Debussy: “Brouillards“
Kumiko Omura (*1970): “À travers le brouillard”

Claude Debussy: “Feuilles mortes“
Takayuki Rai (*1954): “Misty Stillness”

Claude Debussy: “La danse du Puck”
Satoshi Minami (*1955): “Soundprints”


A quinary structure arises through the shared relationship of the five composers (Redel, Zabel, Heucke, Birkenkötter, Hahne) to the federal state of Westphalia in Germany.
The five works presented here, all premiere recordings, were initiated by Duo Imaginaire, and given their world premiere performances in 2012/2013.


Martin Christoph Redel (*1947): "Arparinetto" - Tre pezzi per clarinette ed arpa op. 71

Frank Zabel (*1968): "Von fremden Moosen und Gräsern" for clarinet and microtonal harp

Stefan Heucke (*1959): "Serenata malinconica" for clarinet and harp op. 67

Jörg Birkenkötter (*1962): "why Tristan?" Nocturne for bassclarinet and harp

Dietrich Hahne (*1961): "Metanoia" for clarinet / bassclarinet, harp and video

World premieres:

Manfred Stahnke

Gordon Kampe

Matthew Orlovich

Frank Zabel

Stefan Heucke

Dietrich Hahne

Martin Christoph Redel

Jörg Birkenkötter

Yasuko Yamaguchi

Kumiko Omura

Asako Myaki

Takayuki Rai

Takashi Fujii

Satoshi Minami

Andrew Digby

Carlos Micháns

Frido ter Beek

James Wishart